Stefan Krusche wrote: > 2) close the documents list (and/or side bar), save the session. > There is only "Default session", so the running session, which > is the default session, will be saved as default.session in > kate/sessions/ (would be saved in default.session anyway, but > without your changes) Making the initial tool view changes to the default session may be the key. While I already had a default session, that is where I made the initial changes and I have not had any issues with the memory loss others are experiencing. > 3) next time you start kate, it will find default.session with your > saved changes concerning the view of docs list/side bar. > > BUT: still strange is, that the second time I tried that, kate > would not let me save the freshly opened session, but popped up a > dialog to enter a name for the session to save. I then "opened" > from within kate "Default session" (the only one in the list) I didn't have this issue because I had Kate configured to save sessions on exit. I can confirm that manually saving the default session (when it is the only session) can only be done after selecting it from the Sessions menu.